top of page
Antique Volumes

About Helen C. Escott

Helen C. Escott is an award-winning, bestselling Canadian author and playwright. She had a ten-year career in radio and TV. In 1998 she joined the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) as Senior Communication Strategist. She began writing books full-time in 2014 upon her retirement.

Described as a prolific writer, she has written eight novels and one play. Operation Wormwood was short-listed for the Crime Writers of Canada's best first crime novel award and Operation Vanished won the Silver Medal – Best Regional Fiction at the 24th annual Independent Publisher Book Awards. Operation Masonic was a finalist for the 2023 Best Atlantic-Published Book award by the Atlantic Publishers Marketing Association.

Escott is a retired Civilian Member of the RCMP and was the communications lead on high-profile events including the RCMP’s Newfoundland response to the September 11th terrorist attacks.  She wrote and implemented the Atlantic Region Communication Strategies to combat organized crime and outlaw biker gangs, created a media relations course, and taught it in several provinces as well as at the Canadian Police College, Ottawa. She also served as a communications strategist at the 2010 Vancouver Olympics.


  1. 2017 -The CLB Governor and Commandants Medallion in recognition of her achievements of excellence in volunteering and fundraising work.

  2. 2019 - Governor Generals Sovereign's Medal for Volunteers.

  3. 2021 - Veterans Ombud Commendation Lifetime Contribution Award.

  4. 2022 - Certificate of Recognition from the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador to honour her work and dedication to Veterans.


Novels written by Helen C. Escott:

Operation Masonic: (Flanker Press) The Mason’s Most Worshipful Grand Master is murdered. His body is laid out in the ritualistic Chamber of Reflection at the Masonic Temple surrounded by centuries of secrets.  RNC Insp. Nicholas Myra and Cst. Donna Whiffen dig through thousands of years of history, secrets, scandals, and symbols in a hunt for the killer. A search that leads them back to the Temple of Solomon and the first Masonic murder.  Rumours of hidden tunnels under churches and buildings in the center of old St. John’s leads to an unbelievable treasure hunt in the heart of the Ecclesiastical Circle that a lot of people would kill for. This is the historical backdrop to Helen C. Escott’s engrossing and well-researched new novel, Operation Masonic. This gripping thriller is exceedingly clever and compellingly truthful.

Operation Wormwood: Book one Duology (Flanker Press) A top five finalist for the 2019 Arthur Ellis Awards, Best First Crime Novel, by the Crime Writers of Canada. The first novel in the operation series, this crime thriller was published in August 2018. It was on Indigo’s bestsellers list from August to December 2018 and remains a strong seller.

The Reckoning: Book Two Duology (Flanker Press) On the Day of Reckoning, everyone is called to account for their actions. The bestselling conclusion to Operation Wormwood. With her razor-sharp writing and inside police knowledge, Helen C. Escott delivers a fast-paced, dark, and ingeniously plotted thriller that confirms her status as one of the hottest Canadian crime thriller authors.

Operation Vanished: (Flanker Press) Was awarded a Silver Medal – Best Regional Fiction at the 24th annual Independent Publisher Book Awards. It was released in August 2019.

Operation Trafficked: (Flanker Press) In her most thrilling novel to date, bestselling, award-winning author Helen C. Escott takes you on a lightning-paced, chillingly current, criminal investigation that is surprising at every twist and completely unpredictable right up to its astonishing conclusion.

 In Search of Adventure- 70 Years of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police in Newfoundland and Labrador: (Flanker Press) Named one of the top memoirs in Atlantic Canada it took two years of research and interviewing Veterans to put together this comprehensive collection of personal stories.

I am Funny Like That: (Engen Books) This is the author’s memoir of personal stories and anecdotes exploring the funny side of life. The book consists of laugh-out-loud, humorous short observational essays based on Escott’s life as a mother, wife, and crime writer.

Helen C. Escott
Helen C. Escott
bottom of page